Other Digital Imaging News and Information


Having trouble with a computer in Schoonover or RTV labs?
http://bit.ly/scripps-it-help

Printing to the VisCom RIP from Photoshop Creative Cloud
http://www.ohio.edu/people/schneidw/2400/printing_photoshop_cc_4900.html

Printing to the VisCom RIP from Lightroom
http://www.ohio.edu/people/schneidw/1021/printing_lightroom_5_4900.html

Color Management is Not Color Correction - a brief article about the differences by Martha DiMeo of ChromaQueen.com
http://www.creativepro.com/article/color-management-not-color-correction

Library Digital Initiatives Project
Possibility of extra-curricular work for the library. Description here.

Library computer lab
Alden library has a computer lab, and may have Photoshop installed. Be aware that some program settings may not be the same as in the VisCom computer lab (i.e., Edit>Color Settings, etc.)

How new Apple Retina screens will affect Web standards and image resolution
http://coding.smashingmagazine.com/2012/08/20/towards-retina-web/

One Photographer's Method for Retouching Skin
http://www.ohio.edu/people/schneidw/2400/handouts/skin_retouching_simpson.pdf

iPad Photo Portfolio app for showing work to clients - FolioBook
http://www.rocketgardenlabs.com
/

Cinemagraphs (Still pictures that move)
Cinemagraphs are still photos with a part that moves. The best ones incorporate a moving element with other elements that should move, but do not.  It's an unusual, eye-catching juxtaposition between still and moving parts. The worst cinemagraphs look just like a looping video clip, so pay attention to the unexpected stillness found in some parts compared to the moving parts.

A brief how-to (but older) - http://content.photojojo.com/tutorials/how-to-make-cinemagraphs-photos-that-move

Another Tutorial - http://fernandojbaez.com/cinemagraph-tutorial
YouTube tutorial - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TKA4cqv0IjE

Examples - http://cinemagraphs.com
Examples - http://www.graphicdesignblog.org/moving-cinemagraphs-gifs
Kara Frisina's Cinemagraph from class - http://www.ohio.edu/people/schneidw/2400/images/frisina_rain_cinemagraph.gif
Adam Bialek's Cinemagraph from class - http://www.ohio.edu/people/schneidw/2400/images/bialek_final_cinemagraph1.gif
Nichole Kennelley's Cinemagraph from class - http://www.ohio.edu/people/schneidw/2400/images/kennelly_creative5.gif

Mallory Haack's Cinemagraph from class - http://www.ohio.edu/people/schneidw/2400/images/haack_creative5_sml.gif
New technology for making them - http://www.creativepro.com/article/new-tech-making-cinemgraphs


Timeline of fantasty photomontage and its influences
http://www.d-log.info/timeline/index.html

Doug Peterson Photography
This photographer has good tips on his frequently updated web site
http://www.doug-peterson.com/wordpress/ 

Ben Long's Photoshop Automator Actions
for Mac OSX 10.4 and Photoshop CS3
http://www.completedigitalphotography.com/?cat=10

Bert Monroy's Flashy Poster method
http://revision3.com/pixelperfect/carposter/

Photomatix high-density range and tone mapping software
http://www.hdrsoft.com/

Basic slices in Photoshop
http://www.ohio.edu/people/schneidw/2400/dig_slices.html

Image Quality Calculator
An online calculator that gives the recommended resolution for scanning documents and visual materials based on info about your original document. Useful for archiving manuscripts, etc.
http://images.library.uiuc.edu/calculator/index.htm

Toning Pictures on LCD Screens
http://www.ohio.edu/people/schneidw/digital/toning_lcd.html

Resetting (almost) All Photoshop Defaults
Hold the Command+Option+Shift keys down when starting Photoshop.
A dialog box appears asking if you want to delete the Photoshop settings file. Choosing "Yes" resets everything except color settings.

Life Expectancy of CD's and DVD's
http://www.itl.nist.gov/div895/carefordisc/CDandDVDCareandHandlingGuide.pdf

Creative Photoshop Artists and Their Work
http://www.dianefenster.com/
An advertising site using Photoshop more subtly - http://www.dimitridaniloff.com/
http://www.paulapindroh.com/index.html - A young freelancer in the Cleveland area named Paula Pindroh
Sanjay Kothari's web site - amazing commercial work by this NYC illustrator - http://www.sanjaykothari.com/

Maggie Taylor - http://www.maggietaylor.com
Perttu Murto - http://cargocollective.com/perttumurto
Aaron Goodman - commercial and editorial illustration - http://www.aarongoodmanphotography.com/
Chuck Anderson - http://www.nopattern.com/ (Interview found here - http://www.computerarts.co.uk/in_depth/interviews/chuck_anderson)
Erik Johansson (Sweden)- http://www.alltelleringet.com/
depthCORE web site featuring digital artists and their work
- http://www.depthcore.com
Fast motion video of a portrait created from scratch - http://www.wimp.com/usephotoshop
Sam Spratt's creative illustrations - http://samspratt.com
Video of Alexander Koshelkov creating a plane crash scene -
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=53m0syaPg9A
Storm Thorgerson, album cover creator  - http://www.stormthorgerson.com or the newer
www.stormstudiosdesign.com
Christophe Gilbert - http://www.thechook.com/Photographers/117-CHRISTOPHE-GILBERT/View-details.html
Omar Diaz Blog: http://omarportfolio.blogspot.com/ & original image: http://img.listal.com/image/440551/936full-natalie-portman.jpg
Jericó Santander - http://www.jericosantander.com
Tim Tadder (OU grad) - http://www.timtadder.com
Bryan Allen - http://fineartamerica.com/featured/the-lightning-catchers-bryan-allen.html
Nykolai Aleksander - http://www.admemento.com/
Stephen Burns - http://www.chromeallusion.com/aboutartist.html
David Field - http://www.davidfieldproductions.com/photography/conceptual/
Tom Hussey - http://www.behance.net/gallery/Novartis-Reflections-Campaign/329834
Wendy McMurdo - http://www.wendymcmurdo.com/
Hank Willis Thomas - http://hankwillisthomas.com
Chi Peng - http://tinyurl.com/crhqreu
Waldo Lee - https://theworldofphotographers.wordpress.com/tag/me-and-edward

Igor Scekic - http://fusionfactory.net/Core
Derek Lea - http://www.dereklea.com
Carolyn Tubekis - http://carolyntubekis.com
Nicholas Schwartz - http://www.ndschwartz.com
Valeria Alevra - http://valeriaalevra.com
Erik Johansson - http://erikjohanssonphoto.com
Jerico Santander -
Shadow Chen -
In the In-Between - http://www.inthein-between.com/
Stanislav Odyagailo - http://tinyurl.com/ap5l8nf
Igor Scekic - http://fusionfactory.net/Core/#33
David Waters - http://www.art-spire.com/en/art/superbes-illustrations-de-david-waters/
Devin Schoeffler -
Craig Ward (modified type-centric illustrations) - http://www.mrcraigward.com
Joanie Schwarz -
Android Jones -
Jerico Santander - http://www.jericosantander.com/
Steve McGhee - http://stevemcghee.com/
Bryan Allen -
Joan Garrigosa and Alex Torrens (Garrigosa Studio) - http://www.garrigosastudio.com/
Pierre Beteille - http://www.pierrebeteille.com/
Bobby Chiu - http://www.imaginismstudios.com/ourArt.php
Tom Hussey - http://www.tomhussey.com
Andrea Levy (Cleveland Plain Dealer) - http://secure.plaind.com/pdphotostore/cart.php?target=category&category_id=163

Photo trickery through time - http://lightbox.time.com/2012/10/10/faking-it-photo-trickery-at-the-met-museum/?iid=lb-gal-viewagn#1
David Hill Photography (hyper-real, adventure movie poster style) - http://trendland.com/dave-hill-photography/
Daniel Wagner - http://www.designbyddub.com/
Nicolas Bruno -
http://www.nicolasbrunophotography.com/
Rado Javor - http://radojavor.deviantart.com/gallery/
Manu Pombrol
Greta Tuckute - http://gretatu.deviantart.com/
Erik Almas - http://www.erikalmas.com/
Randy Monteith - http://www.theartofrandymonteith.com/
Lucas Doerre - http://www.lucasdoerre.com/
Annie Leibovitz
Anka Zhuravleva - http://www.anka-zhuravleva.com/
Isabella Mariana - http://www.thephotoargus.com/turning-ideas-into-art-beautiful-portraits-by-isabella-mariana/
 

Copyright Free Image Archives Online - you may use these for creative projects.
iStockphoto www.istockphoto.com (Very reasonable cost for projects)
The Stock.xchnge www.sxc.hu

Perfect Pixel  http://pixelperfectdigital.com

Stock Images by Foto Search http://www.fotosearch.com
MorgueFile.com http://www.morguefile.com

The Trouble with Using Copyright Free Images (humor alert!)
http://fairtradephotographer.blogspot.com/2010/03/microstock-why-would-reputable-company.html

Retouching in Advertising (McDonald's cheeseburger)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oSd0keSj2W8

Celebrities Before and After Retouching
http://youtu.be/nbBmX2Qnv3Y

Copyright issues and legal examples
Rogers vs. Koons - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rogers_v._Koons (pictures shown here)
Tony Stone Images vs. Corel - http://www3.wcl.american.edu/cni/9411/4105.html (pictures not found on web)
Barack Obama political poster - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barack_Obama_"Hope"_poster
The Obama poster legal issue settled with $25K fine and community service - http://pdnpulse.com/2012/09/shepard-fairey-sentenced-on-criminal-charge-in-hope-poster-case.html
George Zimmerman's use of an AP photo as a basis for his art - http://tinyurl.com/nwvqgpj
Thomas Barbčy's legal troubles for using copyrighted images in his digital creations - http://pdnpulse.com/2012/08/self-proclaimed-photo-montage-virtuoso-is-sued-for-stealing-photos.html
Visual Plagiarism discussion (UK site, different laws may apply!) - http://www.epuk.org/The-Curve/456/visual-plagiarism?pg=2
Ten Big Myths about Copyright Explained - http://www.templetons.com/brad/copymyths.html
Using copyrighted work in unpublished design comps is considered infringement - http://www.aiga.org/copyright-basics-for-graphic-designers
A concise guide to intellectual property - http://www.barrymrobinson.com/Copyright.pdf
Register your own copyrights - U.S. Copyright office

Restrictions on the Reproduction of Currency
http://www.ohio.edu/people/schneidw/digital/currency.html

Proper File Naming Conventions
http://www.ohio.edu/people/schneidw/digital/file_naming_conventions.html

Making a Gray Scale Step Wedge
http://www.ohio.edu/people/schneidw/digital/step_scale.html

West Coast Imaging's method for working with very large files
 

Film Scanner Reviews
Tony Sleep Photo - http://www.cix.co.uk/~tsphoto/tech/filmscan/menu.htm
Digital Eyes - http://www.image-acquire.com

Digital Camera Reviews
Digital Camera Reviews and News - http://www.dpreview.com/
Digital Eyes -
http://www.image-acquire.com
Rob Galbraith Online - http://www.robgalbraith.com (this one is particularly interesting for photojournalists)
Digital Photography Review - http://photo.askey.net

Color Management and Image Correction websites
Lots of useful information here. http://www.aim-dtp.net/aim/index.htm
Andrew Rodney's Digital Dog site - http://www.digitaldog.net (useful color management tips)

Dry Creek Photo - http://www.drycreekphoto.com/index.html This web site has downloadable profiles for Fuji Frontier and Noritsu printers around the country. Good Background information on monitor calibration and profiling. Has electronic Gretag Macbeth charts for viewing.

Making "Fire" in Photoshop
http://www.gamedev.net/reference/articles/article1080.asp

More "Fire" in Photoshop
http://www.webdeveloper.com/design/design_burning_text.html

Water Effects in Photoshop
http://unique-tutorials.com/viewtopic.php?t=24

Explosive Type
http://www.perfectpixels.com/index.cfm?method=photoshop.detail&ID=4
(This site has several other techniques for effects, i.e. textured metal, stone, water)


The Archives:

Archived Production Notes for Various School Projects (Dawn to Dusk, etc.)
\archived_production_notes.html

Printing to the Epson 890 Ink Jet Printers from Photoshop CS1
http://www.ohio.edu/people/schneidw/digital/printing_panther_epson_890.html

Printing to the Colorburst RIP/Epson 4000 from InDesign CS1
http://www.ohio.edu/people/schneidw/digital/printing_4000_indesign_cs.html

Printing to the old VisCom HP 8500 color printer from Photoshop
http://www.ohio.edu/people/schneidw/digital/digital/hp_printing.html

Printing to the ColorBurst RIP/Epson 4900 from Photoshop CS6
http://www.ohio.edu/people/schneidw/2400/printing_photoshop_cs6_4900.html

 


Back to Digital Imaging Start Page